get a free consultation 1-800-870-8910

Are DUI Laws Different for Truckers in Nevada?

If you are a truck driver and have been arrested for DUI in Nevada, be aware that the consequences of a conviction are much more serious than they would be for a regular driver. If you plead guilty or are found guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) in Nevada, your CDL will be revoked for one year. And if you get caught driving during this time, your CDL will be revoked permanently!

Nevada DUI laws are different for truckers than other drivers. If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and plead guilty or are found guilty of driving under the influence in Nevada, the state will revoke your CDL for one year.

This means that even if you already have a valid CDL from another state, it will be invalidated in Nevada. You may apply for reinstatement at any time after the one-year revocation period has ended.

In this article, we take a look at DUI laws for truckers in the state of Nevada. Stay with us to take a detailed look at these laws and what they mean for truckers in the state.

Nevada DUI Laws for Truck Drivers are Much Stricter

In Nevada, DUI laws for truck drivers are much stricter than those for regular drivers. If you are driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) and are found guilty of DUI in Nevada, not only will you face stiffer penalties than other drivers but also lose your CDL for one year.

If a trucker is convicted of a first-time offense DUI in Nevada or any other state, he or she will be required to complete an alcohol education course within 30 days after being sentenced by the court. The course must be approved by the NHTSA as meeting federal standards for “courses which should be completed by individuals arrested for driving under the influence.”

After completing this program successfully, he/she may apply for his/her CDL again if it has been suspended during his/her suspension period; however, if caught driving during this time without permission from DMV then his/her license will be revoked again!

The punishment for a DUI conviction in Nevada is severe and can be life-altering. For example, if you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and are convicted of a DUI in Nevada, you will lose your CDL for one year. You may also be subject to fines up to $1,000 or imprisonment of up to 6 months on top of that.

If the driver gets caught driving during this time, he/she will lose a second year of driving privileges, and their CDL will be revoked.

Blood Concentration Levels

If you’re convicted of a DUI in Nevada as a commercial truck driver, there are additional consequences. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.04% or higher:

  • You’ll face criminal penalties, including fines up to $1,000 and jail time between 48 hours and six months;
  • Your employer may terminate the employment contract with you on the spot without notice or cause; and
  • The DMV will suspend your license for one year for having BAC levels between 0.02% – 0.04% or two years if it’s higher than 0%.

When your friend or loved one has been arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), you must go to court with them. You may be able to provide valuable insight into their situation and help build a stronger case against them if they need one. If witnesses saw what happened during the incident, bringing them along will help strengthen your friend’s defense!

Truckers Should Know of the Penalties

Truckers should know that they face stricter penalties than regular drivers if they’re caught driving under the influence in Nevada. The state has a zero-tolerance policy for truckers who operate a commercial vehicle while intoxicated, meaning even one drink can result in license suspension. In addition to losing their licenses and having their vehicles impounded, truckers may face fines of up to $10,000 and jail time (up to 6 months).

The best way for any driver–including those behind the wheel of large trucks–to avoid these harsh consequences is by being aware of them before they happen. If you’re arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence, contact an attorney immediately so that you have someone on your side who understands how DUI laws apply specifically to your case or situation.

Conclusion

If you’re a trucker in Nevada, it’s important to know that you face stricter penalties than regular drivers if caught driving under the influence. If someone you know is arrested for DUI, you can help by attending court with him or her, helping the person make bail if necessary, and offering support after the arrest.

We at The Bourassa Law Group are here to manage all your legal troubles in the state of Nevada. Call us at (800)870-8910 and talk to our legal resource for directions.

Related Posts

Free Case Evaluation

The evaluation is FREE! You do not have to pay anything to have an attorney evaluate your case.