When someone hits you on the road, you expect the other driver to pull over, wait for the police and medical help to arrive, or at least exchange their information with you to settle insurance claims. However, it doesn’t always happen in reality. Hit-and-run cases are far too common in Las Vegas. But there are laws to protect the victims.
Hit and Run Accident Laws in Las Vegas
A hit-and-run case in Las Vegas (or anywhere in Nevada) is treated as a misdemeanor when it doesn’t cause any injury. But it can be charged as a category B felony under NRS 484E.030 when it causes an injury or death.
NRS 484E.030 requires that both the drivers involved in a crash stop at the site, call 911, ensure anyone injured in the accident gets immediate medical help, and must exchange the necessary information – name, vehicle registration number, phone number, and address – for claims settlements.
You must take all these steps even when an accident only causes property damage and no one is injured, per the 424E.020 Nevada Revised Statute.
Hit-and-run incidents are the most common when they involve an unattended vehicle because it’s easier to get away with a collision when the other driver is not around. However, Nevada law prohibits this. If you have hit a parked vehicle, NVR 484E.040 requires you to report it to the police. Moreover, you should ideally find the other driver and exchange the necessary information with them. But if you cannot find them for any reason, you should leave a note with your contact details in a visible place on their vehicle.
What are the Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents in Las Vegas?
The penalties for hit-and-run accidents in Las Vegas (and Nevada) vary depending on the charge.
Penalty for Hit and Run Misdemeanor
A hit-and-run accident lawsuit in Vegas for property or vehicle damage is treated as a misdemeanor. The driver can face up to a $1,000 fine and/or six months in jail if proven guilty.
Penalty for Hit and Run Felony
If you hit and run in an accident that leaves someone injured or dead, you can face a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit and face 2 to 20 years in prison, along with revocation of your driver’s license and a fine of anywhere between $2,000 and $5,000 for committing a category B felony.
Penalty for Not Reporting a Car Accident
Nevada law requires drivers to report any accidents they cause within ten days. Failure to do so can lead to license suspension for up to a year.
What to Do If You’re in a Hit and Run Accident in Las Vegas?
If you have been in a hit-and-run accident in Vegas (or anywhere else in Nevada, for that matter), call the cops ASAP. Also, talk to eyewitnesses and make them stay on site until the police arrive. If they refuse to stay, you should try and get their contact information. This will be useful in filing a liability claim, should you choose to do so. When the police arrive, narrate the accident in detail. The police will file a report and begin the investigation. Meanwhile, you must hire a lawyer experienced in dealing with hit-and-run cases to file a claim.
Provide as many details as you can to your lawyer. Do not leave out any information, no matter how trivial it may seem, because sometimes even the tiniest details can make a big difference in your liability lawsuit.
Here’s a quick reference list for the steps you must take when you’re the victim of a hit-and-run accident in Las Vegas:
- Note down as many details as possible of the car that caused the accident – license plate number, color, model, make, etc.
- Take pictures of the car if you can before the other driver flees the scene.
- Call 911
- Find people who witnessed the accident. Take their names and contact information.
- Take pictures of the accident scene, damaged vehicle, and injuries sustained.
- Seek medical help
- Hire a car accident attorney experienced in hit-and-run cases in Las Vegas
- File a claim
Hire Nevada’s Best Lawyers for Your Hit and Run Accident Claims in Vegas
With the right lawyer by your side, you can file a higher liability claim for a hit-and-run vehicle collision incident. Failure to do what the state law demands in an accident and running away from the site instead is sheer negligence, which (when proven) can get the victim compensated for their car repair, medical treatment, and pain and suffering due to injuries or losing a loved one in the accident. In hit-and-run cases where you could have suffered less pain or damage had the other driver followed the law, such as by calling medical help immediately, the victim can claim for higher compensation and/or demand stricter action and penalties.
We at The Bourassa Law Group can do a free evaluation for your hit-and-run accident case in Vegas and help you file a personal injury, negligence, or wrongful death lawsuit, adding all the damages you suffered due to the other driver’s negligent behavior post-accident. Our lawyers work closely with you through every step of the lawsuit to ensure the person who caused the accident and fled the scene is justly penalized, and you’re fairly compensated for your damages.
Contact us at 1-800-870-8910 for a free consultation and case evaluation with our car accident lawyers in Nevada and to file a liability claim or hit-and-run lawsuit.
What to Do When Falsely Accused of Hit and Run in Nevada?
Being falsely accused of a hit-and-run can turn your world upside down. Suddenly, you find yourself entangled in a web of legal complexities, unsure of where to turn or what steps to take. If you or someone you know is facing the daunting prospect of being falsely accused of a hit and run in Nevada, […]