The state of Nevada requires all drivers to carry auto insurance. The purpose is to ensure motorists have financial coverage to pay medical bills and fix car damages if they ever get into an accident. However, a surprisingly large number of Nevada drivers are uninsured. What happens when they get into an accident due to someone else’s negligence or willful misconduct (reckless driving, DUI, disregard for traffic laws, etc.), resulting in catastrophic injuries? Do they still have the right to file a liability claim against the driver who caused the accident? Read on to find out!
Can Uninsured Motorists File Catastrophic Injury Claims in Nevada?
When an uninsured motorist gets into an accident in Nevada, the situation can get very complicated. Not only are you caught red-handed defying the law, but you may also have more difficulty in successfully settling your catastrophic injury claims. You can also face hefty fines and might even have your license suspended even if you weren’t at fault in the accident simply because you were behind the wheel without the mandatory auto insurance.
Having said it all, you can still file a liability claim for your catastrophic injuries in an accident caused by someone else’s mistake, negligence, or misconduct. However, you need to build a very strong case. An experienced catastrophic injury lawyer can help you do that!
Hire a Catastrophic Injury Lawyer in Nevada from The Bourassa Law Group
The situation can complicate quite a bit when you’re an uninsured motorist in a car accident. But a skilled car accident lawyer who has experience in dealing with such cases can help you avoid legal troubles, as well as seek compensation for your injuries and other damages from the driver who caused the accident. If you’re in a similar situation, we can help. Dial 1-800-870-8910 to discuss your options and seek legal advice from the most experienced personal injury lawyers in Nevada.
What Happens If You Drive Without Insurance in Nevada?
You may be able to seek compensation for the damages incurred in an accident even when you are uninsured, but driving without insurance in Nevada is charged as a misdemeanor offense. Penalties for it can involve a fine ranging from $250 to $1,000, depending on how long you have been driving without insurance and if it is the first time you’re caught or have a history of it. You may also have your license suspended until you provide proof of insurance. You may also have to pay a license reinstatement fee that can range between $250 to $750.
Save yourself from all this legal trouble and get Nevada motor insurance immediately with at least the minimum required coverage.
A Quick Guide to Bicycle Defects Lawsuit in Nevada
With bicycles becoming one of the most favored transports in Nevada and across the US, accidents involving cyclists are also increasing. Although the negligence factor is always there, bicycle defect is another major reason for this increase in bicycle accidents. Many collisions involving cyclists occur due to bike defects, and the manufacturer or retailer should […]
A Quick Guide to Bifurcation of Trial Issues of Liability and Damages in Catastrophic Injury Cases
There are many things that can happen to your client as a result of a catastrophic injury. One of the most important is whether or not the person who caused their injuries is held accountable for them. This decision will impact how much money your client receives for medical expenses and pain and suffering, so […]
A Quick Guide to Childhood Catastrophic Injury Cases
Catastrophic injury cases in children can be brutal, not just for them but also for the parents. If your child has been involved in a serious accident, you can file a compensation claim. Depending on the degree of negligence and severity of the injuries, you may receive the maximum settlement possible. However, it is worth […]
A Quick Guide to Falling Objects Catastrophic Injury Cases
Certain jobs place workers at a higher risk of catastrophic injuries due to falling objects. Construction sites are the most common places with an increased risk of falling object injuries. It is the responsibility of the employer to take certain precautions to prevent these catastrophic injuries from occurring. If you or a loved one has […]
A Quick Guide to Nevada Wrongful Death Cases
Losing a loved one in a catastrophic accident is shocking and heartbreaking. While nothing can replace this loss, loved ones do want justice for the deceased. Moreover, the family members and dependents of the deceased must be granted financial support and accountability to make this loss a little bit more manageable. In Nevada, the negligent […]
A Quick Guide to the Psychological Effects of Catastrophic Injuries
Catastrophic injuries result in significant physical harm and long-term effects on the victim’s life. They can cause permanent disabilities, require intensive medical care, and even lead to death. But while the physical effects of catastrophic injuries are well-known, the psychological impact they can have is often overlooked. This article provides a quick guide to the psychological […]