Workplace injuries are common. As many as 2.3 million people succumb to occupational accidents every year around the world, the International Labour Organization estimates. In the US, someone gets injured at work every seven seconds. This amounts to about 12,600 workplace injuries per day, on average, according to the National Safety Council.
The high rate of workplace injuries doesn’t just cause reduced productivity for businesses but is also a major reason for lost wages. Not to forget the health impacts and disabilities they cause.
Workers’ compensation laws exist to help employees get some financial relief in the event of workplace accidents.
The Workers’ Compensation Law in Nevada
Workplace injuries happen everywhere. Nevada is no exception. But thankfully, the state has a workers’ compensation law that’s binding upon private employers, regardless of the size of their business. Even if an employer has just one employee, they are liable to carry workers’ compensation insurance and cover the expenses in case of an injury at work as required by the workers’ compensation law.
What Does the Nevada Workers’ Compensation Law Cover?
Nevada Workers’ Compensation Law covers all injuries that take place during work. This doesn’t generally include the accidents/ injuries that happen before the employees start their work or during the break, even if they are on the office premises at that time.
The law also covers any disease resulting from qualified workplace injuries or other occupational hazards.
The employees that meet the legal criteria are entitled to receive full coverage for medical treatment and partial coverage for lost wages. In case of a disability that prevents an injured employee from returning to work, the employer must provide disability benefits to them.
Some workers’ compensation insurance policies may also cover the cost of rehabilitation treatments and therapies that an injured employee may require to be able to return to work.
In case of an employee’s death due to a workplace accident or illness, the family of the deceased is entitled to receive death benefits under Nevada’s workers’ compensation law.
How to Avail the Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Nevada If You Get Hurt at Work?
Follow these steps to claim the workers’ compensation benefits in Nevada:
● Fill Out the C-1 Form
The C-1 Form is the official Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease. You should complete and submit it within a week (seven days) of a workplace injury event or getting a diagnosis for a disease caused by occupational hazards. The completed form must be given to the employer within the said timeframe. Failure to do so can give your employer a reason (excuse) to refuse to pay the insurance claim.
● Get the Form C-4 Completed by Your Doctor
If your injury requires medical treatment, have your doctor complete Form C-4 – Employee’s Compensation Report of Initial Treatment – on the first appointment.
Make sure to check with your employer if there are any restrictions on which doctors you can see for your treatment.
● Submit the Form C-4 to Employer’s Insurance Provider
Send the completed doctor’s report to the insurance carrier of your employer within 3 days of the initial medical appointment.
Your claim is only legally filed and is processed once you submit Form C-4, and a claim must be filed within three months (90 days) of a workplace accident or occupational disease diagnosis. Once submitted, your employer has 30 days to provide a response. They may accept or refuse the claim, but you have the right to appeal in case of denial.
Considering that employers often try to find ways to deny workers’ compensation claims, it’s best to have a Nevada workers’ compensation attorney by your side to ensure you do not miss any details or deadlines when filing the claim. You can also hire a workplace injury lawyer in Nevada to get help in appealing for a denied insurance claim.
Claims Against Others
If your workplace injury happened on someone else’s property (other than your employer) or was a motor vehicle accident while you were working where you were not at fault, or similar conditions, you may also have a separate claim as well. The best way to know is to contact us at The Bourassa Law Group to work with the best lawyers in Nevada
The Sum Up
Workers’ compensation benefits fall into the category of employee rights in Nevada.
All Nevada employers are required by state law to have workers’ compensation insurance to protect their employees and provide them financial relief if and when they get injured while doing their job. Not carrying the insurance can get the employer charged for potential criminal prosecution and subjected to strict regulatory actions and monetary fines. Despite this, employers’ risking their employees’ lives to save their money is not unheard of. Moreover, filing workers’ compensation claims can be tricky, especially when an employee gets critically injured. For all these reasons and more, it’s best to hire a Nevada lawyer with experience in dealing with workers’ compensation claims if you or a loved one is injured on the job.
How Social Media Posts Can Impact Your Personal Injury Claim
In the digital age, social media is an important part of our daily lives. People share various aspects of their lives on platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn, often without considering the potential consequences. If you are involved in a personal injury claim in Henderson, NV, it is essential to understand that social media […]
Key Differences Between Economic and Non-Economic Damages
The only means of obtaining justice and fair compensation in a car accident is filing a personal injury claim because it is not only the money for the damages but provides justice to the victims that help in their healing process. Besides the visible vehicle damages, there are many other practical reasons to maximize a […]
The Importance of PIP Insurance for Motorcyclists in Nevada
All licensed drivers in Nevada are required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance. It is because the state has a “fault” system for all auto accidents, including motorcycle accidents, which holds the at-fault motorist accountable for paying for any harm caused by the collision. Nevada does not impose additional insurance beyond this basic […]
Unveiling the Veil: Insurance Claim Adjuster Secret Tactics and How to Counteract Them
You might think that handling insurance claims after an accident is a clear-cut affair. After all, isn’t insurance meant to offer financial safety when you most need it? Yet, behind the curtain, insurance claim adjusters are diligently safeguarding their company’s financial interests. They are not there to help you. This piece sheds light on the […]
Ways to Determine Whether Your Assets Are Protected
If you’re like most people, your estate plan was probably more than a little bit of a burden to create. And once you’ve got it in place, the last thing you want is for someone left behind to have trouble accessing or using it. This is why it’s important to ensure your assets are well-protected […]
What Happens If You Ignore an Insurance Claim in Nevada
Imagine this situation: You’ve been in a car accident in Nevada, and it’s left you shaken and anxious. Your first instinct is to contact your insurance company, hoping they’ll swoop in to save the day. But life gets busy, and you might start to wonder, “What happens if you ignore an insurance claim?” Ignoring an […]