An open road is unreliable and risky in Las Vegas, Nevada, making you prone to car accidents. If you ever find yourself in a car accident in Nevada, only flee the scene after giving the other persons involved your accurate information.
You must stay at the scene of a car accident until a police officer lets you go or until you have shared information with the other motorist. Even if you were not at fault, you risk the grave implications of a hit-and-run accident if you decide to flee the scene.
In this article, we will go over the main reasons—including the legal implications—for not leaving the scene of an accident in Nevada.
It Is Considered As a Hit-And-Run If You Flee the Scene of an Accident
The obligations drivers involved in an automobile accident must follow are listed in Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 484E. The consequences of a hit-and-run accident are also listed. Your obligations following an automobile accident include the following:
- Leave your car where it is.
- Regardless of whether injuries result from it, call the police to report the accident.
- If the damages are minimal and safe, push your car out of the traffic.
- If the persons concerned request it, provide them with your name, personal details, insurance details, and license.
- If there is the presence of police at the scene after the accident, you must provide them with the same information.
- If someone needs medical assistance, dial 911 right away. Ask a witness to call if you don’t have access to a phone.
A “hit-and-run” is when a driver leaves the accident scene, and the least severe punishment is typically a traffic ticket. A driver faces jail time and hefty penalties if the accident leads to injuries or someone’s death and they flee the scene.
There are Serious Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Nevada
Misdemeanors are typically assigned to hit-and-run accidents, though this might change based on the incident’s nature and the damage’s extent. The event is a misdemeanor if there is minor property damage and no injuries. But, leaving a misdemeanor accident can have severe consequences, such as jail time.
Depending on the specifics of the accident, penalties may vary. However, the following are some punishments for leaving the scene of an accident:
NRS 484E.020: Misdemeanor Hit and Run
When there is property damage, and you leave the accident scene, you can be charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run. It can lead to penalties such as six demerit points on your driver’s license, a $1000 penalty, and up to six months in jail.
NRS 484E.010: Felony Hit and Run
When you leave the scene of a death or serious injury, the consequences are far more severe for this infraction. They may result in two to fifteen years in prison, a penalty of up to $5,000, and the cancellation or irreversible revocation of your license.
Other common punishments for hit-and-run offenses in Nevada include:
- License suspension for drivers
- Getting your driver’s license revoked
- Compensation for the victim’s losses
- Probation versus parole
- Maximum twenty years in jail with a minimum of two years
It can be challenging to resolve a car accident lawsuit, especially a hit-and-run one. The judicial system is already complex enough without all the complications and stress that come with it. Our car accident attorneys can help you better navigate such situations.
If a hit-and-run accident has impacted you or a loved one, get in touch with the Bourassa Law Group in Nevada. Our car accident lawyers can help you decide what to do next in your specific situation while ensuring that your legal rights are upheld. Call (800)870-8910 for a free consultation today!
5 Things NOT Do After an Auto Accident in Nevada
The Office of Traffic Safety in Nevada reported over 51,000 crashes, 18,000 personal injury cases, and 235 casualties in 2022 in terms of car and truck accidents. Safety is paramount, and the best way to do that is to be careful when driving. Unfortunately, “accidents” are an unavoidable part of life. When in an accident, there […]
5 Types of Traumatic Brain Injuries Caused By Car Accidents
Car crashes can cause severe damage and injuries to the people involved. While every accident is different, they are a high chance of brain injuries in each of them. The brain can sustain many injuries due to the force of the collision and cause lasting problems. Serious car accidents increase the likelihood of traumatic brain […]
Assessing The Seriousness Of Car Accidents and Injuries In Colorado
Car crashes aren’t uncommon in Colorado and are deemed as one of the leading causes of injury. They’re considered “serious accidents” and are often fatal for the parties involved. That said, fatality isn’t the only factor considered when determining the seriousness of an accident and injury. Let’s take a closer look at what personal injury lawyers use to define […]
Back Pain After a Car Accident: What You Need to Know
Introduction If you’ve been in an auto accident, you may have some concerns about the long-term impact it could have on your health. Will this lower back pain go away? Is it something more serious than that? It’s always a good idea to talk to a doctor, but even better is finding an attorney who […]
Brain Injury Symptoms that Can Affect Your Income and Career
Being in a car accident is already a devastating experience, but suffering from brain injuries can make the situation worse for the individual and their loved ones. Brain injuries caused by car accidents could significantly impact different areas of your life. If a car accident has caused severe brain injuries, you can file a personal […]
Can You File a Burn Injury Claim?
According to the WHO, 180,000 deaths are caused because of burns each year. Needless to say, burn injuries are a global health concern and can have drastic consequences. Did you know you can file a burn injury claim if your injury was caused because of someone else’s negligence? Here’s what you need to know. What Causes Burn […]