Like all other states, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a criminal offense in Nevada. It applies to all motorized vehicles, including motorcycles. You should immediately consult with a drunk driving lawyer in Las Vegas should you find yourself facing DUI charges.
If a motorcyclist is pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they may be required to undergo one or more sobriety tests which typically lead to arrest. If proven guilty, a series of legal actions may ensue.
What Happens When You’re Caught for Driving a Motorcycle Under the Influence in Nevada?
When pulled over for a DUI suspicion, a motorcyclist will first be made to perform a breath test. The cop(s) may also ask you to take a field sobriety test. If these preliminary tests come out positive, you will be arrested. You may be required to submit a chemical test before the charges are pressed against you.
It’s important to note that you are lawfully required to do all the tests the police ask for. Refusing DUI testing can lead to the suspension of your license.
What Happens If a Motorcyclist is Convicted for DUI in Nevada?
As a hotbed for DUI cases (owing to its buzzing nightlife), Nevada has stringent DUI laws. However, the penalty you face usually depends on the situation. If this is your first time getting caught for DUI and you didn’t cause any harm, you will likely face charges for a misdemeanor. However, if you have been caught for DUI before and/or have caused an accident while riding a motorcycle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may face felony charges.
The Penalties for Driving Under the Influence on a Motorcycle in Nevada
The penalties for DIU on a motorcycle in Nevada can include one or more of the following:
1st DUI Offense
- 2 to 180 days in jail
- Community service for 48 to 96 hours
- Fine – $400 minimum
- IID or Interlock Ignition Device for 185 days (when alcohol concentration in blood is lower than 0.18%)
- Revocation of license for 185 days.
2nd or 3rd DUI Offense
Unsurprisingly, penalties for repeated DUI convictions are much more severe than the first offense. These can include:
- 1 to 6 years in jail
- $2,000 fine, at minimum
- IID Installation for 1 to 3 years
- License revocation for up to 3 years
Accused of a Motorcycle related DUI in Nevada? Hire an Attorney to Represent You!
When you’re caught for DUI on a motorcycle in Nevada, you need an experienced lawyer for proper legal representation, more so if you caused an accident. Without a lawyer, you’re at risk of facing severe repercussions, so make sure you hire one at your earliest.
We at The Bourassa Law Group have a team of attorneys with extensive experience dealing with all types of DUI lawsuits in Nevada. We do not just ensure that you’re rightfully represented in the court but also help fight against any charges that may be wrongfully pressed against you. Contact us today to discuss more.
Are DUI Laws Different for Truckers in Nevada?
If you are a truck driver and have been arrested for DUI in Nevada, be aware that the consequences of a conviction are much more serious than they would be for a regular driver. If you plead guilty or are found guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) in Nevada, your CDL will be revoked […]
Can You Counter-Sue If Found Innocent After a DUI Arrest?
Have you ever been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), only to find out that the officer who arrested you didn’t actually have enough evidence to prove your guilt? If so, can you counter-sue and get compensated for all of your lost time, money and stress? The short answer is yes, though there are […]
CAN YOU RUN A RED LIGHT ON A MOTORCYCLE IN NEVADA?
Motorcycle enthusiasts and riders in Nevada often find themselves curious about the rules and regulations governing their two-wheeled adventures. One common question that arises is whether it is permissible to run a red light on a motorcycle in the state. Running a red light is a traffic law violation that often happens due to DUI. […]